Architecture and components

AMP Central uses installed software components that are dependent on the selected RCM for the version that is deployed.

The following table lists AMP Central hardware and software components:
Resource Components
Compute Cisco UCS C220 M5 servers

VMware vSphere 6.5, 6.7, or 7.0 including the following features:

  • VMware vSphere ESXi
  • VMware vCenter Server Appliance (vCSA) with Embedded PSC
  • VMware vSphere Web Client (VMware vSphere 6.x)
  • VMware vSphere Client HTML5
  • VMware Host Client HTML5
  • VMware vSphere Update Manager (VUM) (VMware vSphere 6.x)
  • VMware Single Sign-On (SSO) Service
  • VMware vSphere High Availability (HA) (VMware vSphere 6.7 or 7.0)
  • VMware Distributed Resource Scheduler (DRS)
  • VMware vSphere Distributed Switch (VDS)
  • VMware Fault Tolerance (FT)
  • VMware vSphere vMotion
  • VMware Storage vMotion
  • VMware Enhanced vMotion Compatibility (EVC)
  • VMware Resource Pools (VMware vSphere standard switches with VMware vSphere 6.5)
  • VMware Distributed Resource Scheduler (DRS) (capacity only)
  • VMware Storage-driven profiles (user-defined only)
  • VMware distributed power management (up to 50 percent of VMware vSphere ESXi hosts)
  • VMware vSphere Inventory Service
  • VMware vSphere Update Manager (VMware vSphere 6.7)
  • VMware vSphere Lifecycle Manager (VMware vSphere 7.0)
  • VMware Syslog Service
  • VMware Core Dump Collector
Storage iSCSI shared storage: Dell EMC Unity 300 Hybrid or Dell EMC Unity XT 380 Hybrid

Software Defined Storage (SDS): VMware vSAN

  • Cisco Nexus 31108TC-V Switch
  • Cisco Nexus 9336C-FX2 Switch
  • Cisco UCS VIC 1457 mLOM
  • Intel X550T LOM
  • VMware Virtual Distributed Switch (VDS)
  • Secure Remote Services
  • PowerPath Management Appliance
  • Microsoft Windows Server Embedded Standard
  • VxBlock Central
  • Core, Dell EMC optional, and ecosystem workloads